help

A

Anonymous

hello guys i have a bit of a technical question which thought was a bit much for the discussion section.im a mechanic so dont be afraid to talk technical.i havent had my pulsar long and when i went to see it one of the first things i noticed was that one shim was slightly noisy and when the car is hot it is a bit clackety but this only happens sometimes as when the shim turns round the noise goes away or when it cold there is no noise at all.now this bugs me so was gonna replace the shim.does this mean cams have to come off or can i access the shims with the speacial tool to hold the lifter down and access the shim? was also thinkin that if i do replace it and make the shim tight there is a risk of burning out a valve if its too tight.wat do i do?shall i leave it till it gets worse or change it.?another thing is over the last few days ive noticed that there is a little bit of oil been thrown out my HKS B.O.V.is this normal for a pulsar?wat could it be apart from the turbo chewing a slight amount of oil :roll: which i really hope its not.is there anything i can do about this.? :?

antgtir

I haven't noticed any oil being thrown out of my SARD BOV (touch wood) but ive only had it on a couple of weeks or so. Just thought id say that but unfortunately i haven't got any ideas on the other issues you have, sorry mate.

Ant.

A

ard1ey

I don't think you'll get the shims out without removing the cams, they are only small things that sit directly on top of the valve stem so you've got nothing to push the valve down with :(

If you have a search, the clearances for the shims and rockers should be posted up many times - if you can't find it I'll dig the book out later. Clearances are supposed to be measured hot, any cold clearance is just for inital setup to get the car running. Shims can be hard to find in correct sizes, so be prepared for a wait :?