no back box on a pulsar?

A

Anonymous

was talking to a guy with a pulsar gti-r and he was running a custom system but it dint actually have a backbox it just had the system then a tailpipe on the end,is back pressure not an issue?is anyone else running this kind of system?

LeeSmith

a turbo charged car does not need back pressure like a NA car does. a lot of people use the mongoose system which has no back box. basically the less restrictive the exhaust (i.e no bends or restrictive box like a cat or back box), the better the engine can get rid of the waste gas.

that's my view anyway.....i'm sure sum 1 will come with a technical answer for you in a minute!!

Mr GTiR

the Mongoose 2 1/2" exhaust system does not have a back box :D

No back box is needed on a turbo charge motor :twisted:

A

Anonymous

cool,im a welder/fabricator by trade so a new tail pipe minus the box may have to be made :D

ashills

some factory turbos will break down on the oil seals if all the boxes are removed
stuff like the cossies on standard turbos
if u go straight through on teh exhaust it will smoke on idle and can when driving also
most decent hybrids have a good doublestack/uprated oil seal to coup with low back pressure though

G

GTiRich

Yeah I had a custom system built too without a back box. It's just got a couple of sections of 5" pipe to keep the noise down and the neigbours happy :lol:

Stevo

i have no back box either, custom made 2 34" pipe copied from a mongoose system. proper loud i tell thee :cry:

A

Anonymous

is that a `i dont like the loudness lol`? the system i have is a custom full stainless with a small backbox with a 4` tailpipe does sound nice but just want it louder!!

Websnowbo

Careful though......i had a Trust system on one a mine a few years back and i thought feck it i'l remove the back box.

Was sooo fcukin loud....if a system isnt designed to have no back box i.e the Mongoose it will be mega loud as it is probably straight through without the box.