Reliable?

B

Batch21

Hi All,

I am relatively new to the GTi-r forums and although i don't own one specifically, i may well own a 'sort of' GTi-r in the next few months.

I am in the closing stages of an engine conversion and i am teased to go down the route of using a GTi-r setup, currently i am using a Primera GT setup (i.e. engine, running gear etc).

I was pretty sure i wanted to use the Pulsar block from the outset but i was put off by a few parties involved because they seemed to think they were un-reliable.

So my question is, how true is this?

Baring in mind that if i do go down the route of GTi-r it will be totally stock, running unusally low boost, in street terms anyway (i'd say half a bar or slightly over).

Stick with Prim GT or go GTi-r? (probably be a daily driver, weighing 800kgs)

tried to provide you with as much information as i think you'll need, any more questions i'll answer no probs

rayman75

a std gtir will be fairly relible i would say so. i cant really comment as i have never had a std one. pulsar come with 0.7bar out of the box anyway and it will will 1bar without any fueling issues.

Fast Guy

Moderators
Staff member
Batch21 said:
I was pretty sure i wanted to use the Pulsar block from the outset but i was put off by a few parties involved because they seemed to think they were un-reliable.

So my question is, how true is this?

Baring in mind that if i do go down the route of GTi-r it will be totally stock, running unusally low boost, in street terms anyway (i'd say half a bar or slightly over).
It's a load of cr4p. The engine is pretty reliable, transmissions are more the weak point.

What's the point of putting the Gtir engine in and runnig boost that low, you might as well take the turbo off and run N/A:doh:

Stick the whole engine in and run it with at least 1bar boost:lol: :thumbsup:

B

Batch21

yeah but it'll be in a 800kg Nissan Micra K10! :)