Urgent help please

J

Jonny_gti-r

Hi guys,

had my gti-r for about 6 weeks now and its started giving me some trouble. when the engine is upto regular running temp it has started running really badly (feels like it has a missfire) you put your foot down and it feels to be holding back or can't go..... i had it on the rolling road and the told me the knock sensor is registering a fault and this could cause it to run in limp mode or something...... i'm no mechanic so i don't have a clue!!!!

Does anyone know about this or had it happen to there car? i'd really appreciate any help anyone could offer

cheers jon

A

AJ4

Hi Jon,

Its a very common problem, the det sensor is prone to breaking and lots of people have the same problem.

If you can confirm definately that the det sensor is broken ( and not just measuring det ), then the only solution is to replace it. Unfortunately its a pain in the ass to do yourself as it hides way up the back of the block...

Fast Guy

Moderators
Staff member
Have you done an ecu fault check to confirm it is the det sensor code coming up?
If the det sensor is doing it's job, it should let the ecu cut boost and retard the ignition timing. It shouldn't run badly. That's not to say the det sensor couldn't be faulty tho.
Also worth checking are your plugs (condition and gap), AFM may be playing up (need regrounding maybe), You may have a boost leak somewhere, fuel pump could be starting to play up, coolant sensor faulty (there's 2 of them I believe) and maybe a few other things :?

When was it last serviced? If you don't know, it may be worth changing the plugs/leads/rotor arm/filters etc

J

Jonny_gti-r

Well the car was serviced just before i picked it up, new plugs leads and the like.... the guys at the rolling road did some code checks and it was coming up with a code 34????? the car has also been taking the pi$$ with fuel too, i was using about £40 a week until recently and now that only seems to last a few days!!!!!